Categories
blog entertainment funny humour life music photo picture sarcasm songs teen teenager Young-Adult

A Teenagers Take on Turning 17

I’m pretty pathetic at introductions to each post..

And the ending…

Sometimes my actual post turns out okay though.. *Sometimes being the operative word*

Turning17

Anyway, it’s Monday and it’s pretty gloomy weather out here. It’s dull but it doesn’t rain and it’s super humid.. which is just annoying. Anyway, I decided to write a post on turning 17 because apparently it’s a rite of passage or something..

But it’s funny really at how I’m writing this post right now..

Purely because my birthday was a month ago.. more than  a month ago to be honest.

For all those of you who don’t know when my birthday is (that’s basically everyone here) it’s somewhere towards the end of June… Try guessing..

Also, to throw it out there, I’m a Gemini. Maybe your guesses are actually spot on. Lemme know though when you think my birthday was.. if you’re actually going to think about it. 

But the real reason I’m writing this post is because I was randomly going through my “Little About Me” page and I realised that my age is still 16 on there. I updated that right after luckily but that’s when it struck me that I’ve actually turned 17.

I know it’s a month later but this is when it finally struck me. And at the same time it struck me that I have just 5 more months of high school left and that I’m soon going to have to make some really touch decisions. It made me realise that in another year, I’m no longer going to be viewed as the confused and misunderstood teenager that I know I am, but an actual adult. Which makes all this so scary.

I always used to compare 17 to a place that was in the middle of nowhere but on the road to everywhere. I still do, but I’ve realised that 17 is so much more than that. Turning 17 signifies that you still have a year left to fulfill all the childish dreams that you have without all those judgmental stares. It’s a pretty darn important year cause after this no one’s going to buy the whole teenage angst story anymore. They’re going to view you as a responsible adult and think that you have your act together. 

What’s even more frightening than that? I don’t think I’m  going to have my act together in a year. There are so many times when someone asks me how old I am and my first answer’s going to be “16” but I quickly change it to “17”. It’s probably because when I say “16”, I know I have two more years and that seems like a lifetime but when I say “17”, 18 seems so near. 

17 might just be a number to many but once it dawned upon me that in a year there’s going to be so much more expected of me, I freaked. And the result of that is this post. 🙂

If you’ve turned 17 or are turning 17, you can always share your thoughts with me and each other by commenting 🙂 If you did like this post, like, rate, reblog, do whatever else 😛 or email-me 🙂

Also if you haven’t heard the latest 5 Seconds of Summer song “She’s Kinda Hot”, PLEASE listen to it. P.S. It’s nothing like She Looks So Perfect. And I’m a little addicted to this song right now so give it a try 🙂

And that’s all for today. 

Also, a tiny notice – I might not be able to post for a few weeks because I’ve got my exams and I really need to study for them 😛 So I’m sorry if I don’t update even though I’ll try to!

Till the next time,

A Tired of this Weather Teenager

28 replies on “A Teenagers Take on Turning 17”

the clock at my table showed 12:01 a.m. That’s when my older cousins bursted in through the door with their wives screaming in clutters: “Happy birthday!” I turned and tried to smile at them(I did not know how to smile in a proper way, so my smile always looked creepy!). After they were gone, I went on to complete my study routine of 12 hours till 1 a.m. before going to sleep till 7 in the morning when I would begin my scheduled study from 7:30 onwards….

Liked by 2 people

Happy late birthday!! 🎉 For me I’ve turned 17 already and yes , it does make me think of what am I going to do in my life *sigh*

Liked by 1 person

I can totally relate to this. I felt the same way when I turned 17. Growing up is scary. I was scared about being a “grown up” and suddenly having all these “adult” expectations and responsibilities. I am now 19 and I can tell you from experience, you will not have your act together in one year. The good news is that NO ONE does and it is absolutely okay. You have a lot of awesome and big things ahead of you. Enjoy the ride and learn along the way. Plus, you technically still have teen at the end of your age for the next three years. You still have time to figure it all out. 🙂 – Gabriella

Liked by 1 person

I just turned 17 and i spent my last 3 years in the streets chasing street money and smoking weed forgetting life is reality and just living every day missin school sleepin in trap houses with fiends. I started forgetting how smart i actually was. Now that i turned 17 life is getting real as hell and scary as hell. I could use some advice. It feels like the end of something. Im constantly worried about something happening to a family member because of how dangerous my city is and because i lost my cousin to gun violence 3 years ago 3 days before my birthday. I cried hellas on my birthday. Its like the death is really hittin me now for some reason. He was 19. Very close to the age i am now. Ive been looking at alota old childhood pictures lateley. Like im grievin ova my self or somethin. I jus feel kinda lost

Liked by 1 person

It’s not the end.
You have your whole life ahead of you 🙂
And I know it hurts so much but you become a little more stronger once you’ve admitted it to yourself. And the fact that you’ve actually told me? That shows that you’ve accepted that you’re hurt and that’s an amazing thing to be able to admit. It takes so much courage just to feel that kind of pain.

Also, there’s better days coming so chin up 🙂
Be a little more optimistic and you know what life can be a pain sometimes and you aren’t a fortune teller with a crystal ball. That shouldn’t stop you from being with your family and enjoying every single second you have with them. Because the time you DO have, it’s precious time, so don’t think about the could happen’s or the what if’s because they don’t determine what how you live your life. YOU determine it.

And feeling lost? The best way to get over that is find new things that you like and are also good for you. Start doing these and preoccupy your mind with that.. you’ll have no time to feel lost. Start looking at each day as something new. It’s not exactly a do-over but hey, you can always change.

I don’t know if this helped you or not but all I’d want to say is that your life is a beautiful thing, don’t waste it. 🙂 And I love the fact that you actually asked me for some advice 🙂

Like

Leave a comment